Impulse: Road Trip South

20130107-204759.jpg

It’s 11:22 PM EST at the time of this writing and I’m almost ready to hit the road tomorrow on one of my patented “throw your stuff in a bag and go” trips. This time around I’m heading south from Charleston, West Virginia with only a general idea of where I’ll end up. First stop: Asheville, North Carolina at the foot of the Smokey Mountains.The Smokies are just one part of the long Appalachian mountain chain that snakes up through the Mid-Atalantic into the Northeast. Asheville has identified itself as the “Gateway” to these mountains; something my home town of Charleston has tried to replicate. And if anything I’ve heard is true, what a gateway it must be: great hiking, rafting, climbing, food, and…and microbreweries. Can’t wait.

From there I have no idea, but lets just say I packed some swimming trunks just in case I end up on a beach in Key West. Savannah, Georgia is in my sites and I’d love to find and Otis Redding memorial somewhere in Macon, where I believe he lived and/or played often. Whatever happens, it will be impulsive. Life is good.

More to follow. Onward!